Full Disclosure: “Oldboy”

Full disclosure: I’m not sure why it took me such a long time to watch “Oldboy,” considering I’m a fan of the director’s work and my enthusiasm for anything that has a revenge motif. I think one of the reasons is that I always thought the movie was more violent than it actually is.

  • Still think “Handmaiden” is my favorite work from director Chan-wook Park
  • Not surprised that Tarantino was such a fan of the film
  • It’s interesting that they changed the villain’s motive in the movie from the one in the original manga. I feel like the movie’s choices to make it about incest and how rumors can kill and damage a person makes it easier to travel internationally, compared to the motives of the manga, which I feel probably would only make sense for an Asian audience
Leave a Reply

